Help- How do I Install OMV4 on Debian 9 (Stretch)?

• votdev- I have been using Linux variants for the past two years, mostly on the Raspberry Pi. I installed Debian 9 on a spare PC and am learning a lot from ths forum and your posts.

You make installing OMV4 on Deb9 look simple in your post: "Install OMV4 on Debian 9 (Stretch)".

However, I am confused by the construct of "cat <<EOF >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/openmediavault.list". What does <<EOF>> do?
    Also, I've never seen the export command, and there's no man pages for it. What are these export lines doing?

I never do anything without some understanding what I am doing, so an explanation of the process in your post would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
    Steve Mann

• Hi SteveMann,

The cat <<EOF >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/openmediavault.list will append all following text into the file until it sees the marker EOF, its effectively the same as you editing the file and appending the text liens yourself.

Hope that helps

• Thanks- that and some old-fashioned research helped me understand a lot. Linux is getting more versatile for me every day. Who knows, I may switch my main PC to Debian some day, or at least, dual-boot.

Perhaps you can help me get a bit further in my installation?

So , I follow the instructions in votdev's post, this line:
    apt-get --allow-unauthenticated install openmediavault-keyring
    Produces these warning lines:
    update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-4.9.0-6-amd64
    W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8107e-2.fw for module r8169
    W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8107e-1.fw for module r8169
    W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168h-2.fw for module r8169
    W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168h-1.fw for module r8169
    W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/rtl_nic/rtl8168g-3.fw for module r8169