Thin provision ESXi VMDK slower speed

• Noob here.

I have 3 file systems (lets call them RAID, DATA, and SSHD). I no longer need the RAID 1, so I degraded it. I deleted the files on the VMDK and added it back into ESXi but this time as Thin Provisioned. I added the physical disk into OMV (looks like it wrote zero's to it) and ran some comparison tests using SMB. I did the testing on a VM that has access to OMV file systems, here are my results:

-RAID to SSHD, avg 100MB/s
    -SSHD to DAS of VM, 80-200MB/s Wow!
    -RAID to DAS of VM, 100MB/s.

Everything no matter how I transferred data was about 100-300MB/s. BUT the newly created file system is only transferring at about 50MB/s writing to it. Copying files from the new DATA store is acceptable (around 200MB/s)

Q) Is Thin Provision a nono when it comes to OMV and ESXi? I hope not because I would like to start using vSphere Data Protection but the 4TB VMDK is too big to run a backup.
    Note: I read a post about installing LVM plug-in and use iSCSI target but that's Greek to me (again noob).

Thank you for your time,
    -Dave-

• Offizieller Beitrag

Is Thin Provision a nono when it comes to OMV and ESXi?

Thin provisioning has nothing to do with the OS. If you have a small vmdk that can grow as you add data, of course there is going to be a performance penalty. But I have never noticed it and it definitely shouldn't be the huge drop you are seeing. Most of my VMs are thin provisioned.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!