Updating RAID1 to RAID5 / adding a third drive

• Noob here.

I'd like to grow my RAID1 into a RAID5 by adding another hard drive, but the user interface won't allow me to do it. The "Grow" button is greyed out. It won't even let me add it as a hot spare.

I get this error:

Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C; mdadm --manage '/dev/md0' --add /dev/sde 2>&1' with exit code '1': mdadm: /dev/md0 has failed so using --add cannot work and might destroy mdadm: data on /dev/sde. You should stop the array and re-assemble it.

Any ideas?

• This might seem like a dumb question, but again, I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff.

How exactly do you get the command line for mdadm to even launch.

Also, I found this:
    https://openmediavault.readthe…tration/storage/raid.html

• Do not use RAID arrays in production with drives connected via USB, neither hubs or different ports. This includes low power devices that do not have a SATA controller, e.g. Raspberry Pi, Pogoplugs and any low entry ARM SBC.

I have a Raspberry Pi 3 as my server and drives connected through a powered USB hub. No good?

• - You can't grow a RAID 1 (where the two drives are identical) into a RAID 5 (where data is striped over the drives). This would require rearranging data blocks among the 3 drives, which is not feasible.

- A Raspberry Pi 3 is pretty much the worse platform possible for a NAS.

- RAID over USB, especially slow USB like on a Raspberry Pi, is not recommended.

- You get the command line by connecting to the NAS over SSH (with PuTTy or the web console plugin)

My opinion would be to forget about RAID (why do you need it anyway ?) and set up a proper backup strategy instead.