Cannot make folders

• Dear reader, I am an absolute beginner and English is not my native language. Hence my questions may seem odd or stupid, please forigve me, I am ignorant when it comes to OMV.

I installed OMV onto an old PC a friend gave to me. I want to make a NAS so I put an 700Gb 3,5" hardisk in it and follwed Techno Dad's video to install OMV. When I get to the part where shared folders are made I get into trouble. The drop down list doesn't show any device to make the shared folder on. What did I do wrong?

To solve my problem I checked the "solutions to common problems" post, and searched the forum for users with the same issue, but couldn't find anything. Perhaps because I searched with the wrong keywords as English is not my native language. I suspected it had to do with mounting the drive, but the drive is mounted, so I see no reason why it is not possible to make a folder.

Is there anybody out there who is willing to help me to move on with my installation?

Thank you in advance, and with kind regards,

Laurens Swarte
    the Netherlands

• Offizieller Beitrag

A very efficient way to install OMV, on a system like your's, might be to boot OMV from a good quality 16-32GB USB-stick and use the WHOLE HDD for storage. It seems that is what OMV almost is designed for. (Make sure to have a backup USB-stick, cloned from the one in use.)

Or you could have a small HDD with OMV and a larger one for OMV to use as storage.

• Thank you for your replies.

The output from cat /proc/partitions is

Code