disk unmounted alone

• OMV 4.x

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• disk unmounted alone

Hi,
      I am new to OMV but I succeed in installing and make it work properly.

then I have installed and mounted a first HDD with no issue.
      after a week, I decided to mount a second HDD and succeed. I have transfered datas on it with no issue.

a few days later, I discovered an issue with second HDD. my computer could browse the content but when I launch an AVI file, windows told me that the file was missing (on all AVI or MKV of the harddrive).

so I reboot my OMV machine and then I see in the GUI that the hard drive is not mounted anymore.
      HDD is visible in the disk list but the status is "missing" in the file system.
      If I go on the command line and type "fdisk _l" the hdd is here under /dev/sdc

it is like the mounted disk dismounted itself and I can't get back.

please help me, I have done many search but could not find the solution
    • New

I have experienced similar problems with my HC2s and Seagate IronWolf HDDs.

I figured out that if I modified any the physical disk properties: (Edit on the Disk).

Advanced Power Management
      Automatic Acoustic Management
      Spindown Time
      Write Cache

...then the HDDs would unmount themselves after a short while, and fail to mount on reboot. And a backup system drive SD-card had to be used to recover. I couldn't figure out how to repair the configuration. But I didn't work on it very long.

Some research seems to indicate that some Seagate HDDs are incompatible with hdparm, which I assume OMV uses? Instead you are supposed to use SeaChest Power Control tools, made by Seagate. Other HDDs may also be incompatible.

I have not investigated further, my HDDs work fine on default settings, even if they spin down a little too fast for my taste. Less than a minute when idle. I would prefer 10 minutes or so.