OVM NIC Bonding Questions/Troubles

• Howdy all

I have been using OMV now for a couple of years and have made one previous post where i had sufficient help in the matter.

I have been slowly working on my network, upgrading components here and there and is currently fiddling with a new setup i am trying to get working.

I have OMV installed on a ESXi 6.5 machine, its early in the works so the only thing i have installed as a VM is OMV. My ESXi machine has an onboard 1Gbps NIC and this will be used as a management/server related NIC. I have a second dual port HP 1Gbps NIC set up as two different virtual NICs in ESXi and OMV picks them up as individual NICs.

My problem is that i want to do some load balancing of sorts, my theory is to have a 2Gbps bond so that i should be able to send a total of 2Gbps if two machines were to transfer at once. I have OMVs two dedicated ports plugged into two ports on a HP procurve 2824 switch, and these two ports are set up as a trunk config. I have a bond set up in OMV using a static IP and am using the 802.3ad setting, this works and i can access the GUI and send stuff to the NAS.

However, i have two separate 7200 HDDs in the machine and I've tried sending from 1st PC to the 1st HDD and 2nd PC to the 2nd HDD and my traffic will not exceed 1Gbps. If i start sending off one PC the bandwidth is as expected but soon as the second PC sends to another drive it halves the bandwidth between the two machines.

Has anyone here configured a similar setup, and in what way did you config your bonding of the two NICs to get greater bandwidth across the network?

Any help is appreciated.

Cheerz Stephen :):):)

• my theory is to have a 2Gbps bond so that i should be able to send a total of 2Gbps if two machines were to transfer at once