New (to me) HP Proliant Microserver G7 N54L Build... RAM upgrade, boot device, additional drive bay (non hot-swap)..

• Hello all...

Openmediavault newbie here.... I have recently acquired a HP Proliant Microserver G7 and will be building + configuring over the next couple of months. Intended use is media storage for the most part. Music, photos, videos:

• stream FLAC music collection to a laptop/pc to drive a DAC/headphone amplifier
    • will store, organize, develop and publish photos with Lightroom
    • Plex streaming (mostly 480P content) if I get the inclination

First order of business is to upgrade the RAM to capacity. 8GB max "officially" correct? Will it take only ECC Non-Buffered, or will non-ECC do? Any real benefits with ECC in practice for a home NAS? Any benefit to going beyond 8GB "unofficially"?

The system has the latest HP BIOS on it.... I see that there are other versions... any real benefits? Again... I'm a newbie...

Which boot/OS device? I like the idea of a USB drive since I can use 2 of the 4 bays with mirroring... if the data approaches capacity, I can add 2 larger drives and mirror in the remaining bays and move the data over. wash-rinse-repeat until I get a new server. Are there a downsides to running OMV off of a USB drive? Also... I am assuming one needs 2 USB drives to install (1 for the media and 1 to install on).... capacity/type recommendations? I have several 32 and 64 GB spares.

I also have a Vantec 5.25" EZSWAP 3.5" SATA drive bay I can install on the media bay (presently empty) which I intend to use as a means for data backup (insert a drive, dump data onto it, store at work). It will also be used to dump data from old PC drives to the main OMV storage. Will this work? How does OMV handle drives formatted in NTFS/FAT32?

Thanks for any responses in advance... I'm sure I'll have more questions as I get into this...

• Offizieller Beitrag

First order of business is to upgrade the RAM to capacity. 8GB max "officially" correct?