Docker containers can't see shared folders and sometimes dissapearing.

• Hello, Im pretty new to all this but I've been following tutorial videos and threads to setup my OMV server. I'm having some issues with docker though and I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or there is an issue with my install.

For simplicity I setup my shared folders to be read and write for everyone. I've tried setting up dockers for plex and emby, but for some reason they cannot see my shared folders. I've followed tutorials from Technodad Life on installing and it goes just fine. Once I have the docker running, I try to set the media folders in plex or emby and I cannot see my shared folders which is where my media is located.

Another issue I'm facing is anytime I try to edit a docker I get and error upon saving. Then the docker container just dissapears and I have to set it up all over again. I know I had done this before and was able to edit. But this happens to every single docker image I try to run. They just vanish if I edit or stop running them.

I currently have a tranmission with OpenVPN docker and nextcloud docker up and they seem to be running properly. If I were to try and edit them they will dissapear though.

• Most likely explanation for your troubles is that the user the containers run as does not have adequate permissions to access the shared folders and/or the the actual file systems directories on the disks. Check these very carefully.

Be advised that setting Privileges and/or ACLs in the OMV Shared Folders panel is not the same thing as setting file system permissions. And it's the latter that are vitally important.

I never make any Privileges and/or ACL settings in the OMV Shared Folders panel.

The easiest way to avoid problems like this is to NOT use Shared Folders in docker Volume and bind mount settings. Use the actual filesystem locations instead, but only after you are sure the permissions on those filesystem locations are correct.

--