mdadm vs snapraid

• Hi guys

I'm new to openmediavault, I have been using freenas with an old computer having 3TB in Raid 1, but now got new hardware and decided to move to OMV.

Regarding storage right now I have 2x WD Red 4Tb and 2x WD Green 3TB. My plan is to use the 4TB drives for my important data (documents, photos, archives projects), so I pretend to have some kind of fallback here, and using the 3TB drives just to store not so important stuff (movies, timemachine backup, etc). I know any kind of Raid is not a backup so I'm also planning to use some cloud backup.

My question is regarding the data storage disks. Should I go with the default Raid 1 (mirror) used by OMV (MDADM) or with the Snapraid solution? The files shouldn't change over time, so as far as I have read Snapraid could be a good candidate, but does it works good with only 2 disks?

• Offizieller Beitrag

So Raid 1 would be a better option? Can you please explain me how it would work with unionfs + snapraid in terms of disks layout?

From what you have described 2 x Raid 1 would be a waste of the drive capacity you have, if you use UnionFS (MergerFS) plugin along with SnapRaid plugin for starters you'll get more usable disk space, but this does not negate the need for a backup. Some use plugins such as Duplicati, Rsnapshot and Rsync.

Rather than me trying to explain MergerFS and SnapRaid have a look at this ignore the title, but his explanation help me decide that this is the way I should go from my current Raid 5 set up, he also has a follow on from that for 2017. This site albeit using OMV 2 explains how he used the plugins, the SnapRaid site is here there's a lot of information on there.