File managing within network to server

• Hello everybody.
    I am a newbie here, and I was looking for information about what kind of tools I have to move files within the network to the server. I mean, I want to send files stored in a computer to a folder in the server. What tools do I have available? Beside shared folders through SMB or NFS.
    Is there any tool that allow me to download any future file directly there? Could be something similar to jDownloader or else.
    Sorry if they are too simple questions
    TIA

• Offizieller Beitrag

Not sure what you are asking.

The major tools I use are rsync and Midnight Commander. Besides scrapers, renamers, organizers and taggers like TinyMediaManager and Picard MusikBrainz, calibre or Emby. Along with cron and some custom scripts for backups.

I'm a Linux user. So mostly I use NFS4. But for some Android devices also SMB/CIFS. FolderSync, SSH-helper and EZ FileManager are used in Android. Along with various apps for media consumption.

I have a multiroom speaker setup based on the venerable Logitech Media Server with original Squeezeboxes along with newer Volumio and PiCorePlayer clients.

I connect my 5 small SBCs to each other with NFS4 and autofs. Completely outside OMV. Also to an old Synology NAS used only for backups. Using NFS4 traffic between the boxes is fast and easily saturate a GbE connection in sustained transfers of big files. I have the SBCs on a book shelf, connected to the same GbE switch with 25 cm CAT6 cables. I have found autofs very reliable and stable, if a bit fiddly to set up. It allows the HDDs to spin down and up as needed and connections to drop or be reestablished between the boxes automatically.