Read floppies directly from OMV

• Hi,

Sorry if this is a noob question since I'm new to Unix based systems. But uhh is there a way I can directly read and write floppy disks via my fileserver? The motherboard of my fileserver is soon the only motherboard that has a actual floppy connector and where I work we still have some super expansive machines that write their data on floppy disks.

So is there a way I can mount my floppy disk like I can mount a USB hard drive or do I really need to mess with Docker or Virtualbox just to read and write a floppy disk?

And before someone asks, a USB FDD is not a option. Too unreliable and I already have 2 that don't work properly/reliably.

• Offizieller Beitrag

But uhh is there a way I can directly read and write floppy disks via my fileserver?

Sure but not via the OMV web interface. You would do it just like any other Linux box. Assuming the disk was formatted on Windows and one floppy drive, you would:
    mkdir /mnt/floppy
    mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

a USB FDD is not a option. Too unreliable and I already have 2 that don't work properly/reliably.

Interesting... I have two of them and they work great. Just recovered a file from a 25 year old floppy the other day.

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Sure but not via the OMV web interface. You would do it just like any other Linux box. Assuming the disk was formatted on Windows and one floppy drive, you would:mkdir /mnt/floppy
    mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

Interesting... I have two of them and they work great. Just recovered a file from a 25 year old floppy the other day.