How to Setup Snapraid

• Hi, newbie here, wondering about the process for setting up snapraid and it's best practices...I have one box with OMV and a vanilla Raid 5, but seems that the snapraid might be better for my needs, which is basically archiving photography and video allowing for common access for two people as designer and photographer. Long periods of inactivity, infrequent access, but easier to access and organize file as opposed to multiple drives separate...
    Any suggestions for a good how to would be appreciated....

Thnks...oh by the way, is it true what they say about raid five being destined to fail?

• Offizieller Beitrag

Here's a link to the basic -> setup.

Things to remember:
    You want at least 2 content files, set on two different data drives. (An intact content file is necessary for a restore.)
    The Parity drive must be the same size as, or larger, than the largest drive in the array.
    While the link references UnionFS (some call it MergerFS), it's not necessary to setup SNAPRAID.

There's lots of reasons why RAID5 is becoming harder to justify as time goes on.
    - The write hole (easy to counter - use an UPS)
    - It wasn't designed for today's stupendous sized drives.
    - Rebuilds are taking so long (again huge drives where rebuilds may take days) that the rebuild operation itself can cause additional drive failures.
    (With RAID5, two drive failures and it's over.)

Since you seem to be using your server as part of a business, make sure you have real backup (in addition to SNAPRAID). A large external drive, at a minimum, is a very good idea.

• thanks for the advice...for future reference, what may be the preferred method to go from raid five to snapraid?

• new omv install, setup snapraid, erasing existing raid, populate with backups....
    • new omv install, setup snapraid using exsting raid five disks Will new snapraid recognize and use the old raid five in any way?
    • Offizieller Beitrag