Help Needed

• Ok - I am running into a specific problem but since I need to go to the forums I thought I would post my whole story and see if I'm headed in the right direction.

I have recently picked up a free NAS from a neighbor but it came with no disks (including the original OS disk).

The NAS unit is an Acer Aspire easyStore H340
    - OS (original - now, none): MS Windows Home Server
    - Processor: Intel Atom Processor 230
    - Memory: 2GB DDR2
    - 4 Drive Bays
    - 1 Ethernet port, 1 e SATA port, 5 USB ports (not sure if 2.0 or 3.0 - 2 of them look different somehow but I don't see any blue color)

So, I've built plenty of computers but I have zero experience with NAS and my initial reaction is - wtf, how do you install an OS on something with no monitor?

I've got 4 drives of various sizes and one I want to put the OS on but I don't want the whole 1TB drive dedicated to the OS.

This lead me away from FreeNAS and toward installing OMV over debian.

So, I've been trying to install a minimal debian net installation image (no graphical interface) on my home computer to the 1TB drive.

I've got that done but I'm running into trouble putting OMV on top of that. I also am worried that I can't just pull the drive out of my home computer and put it in the NAS without no issues.

AM I DOING THIS RIGHT?

So, on to my troubles with the OMV installation on top of debian....

Using this guide: https://openmediavault.readthe…stallation/on_debian.html

I get a "permission denied" message when I type the below into the command line.

Code
    cat <<EOF >> /etc/apt/sources.list.d/openmediavault.list
    deb http://packages.openmediavault.org/public erasmus main
    EOF

I've tried google but couldn't find much on this. This is an easy to get to guide so it must be widely used - I can't imagine I'm the only person running into this message. I'm sure I'm doing something dumb but I have no idea what.

Help! (and thank you to those that read this.)

• Offizieller Beitrag