New to OMV, please comment on ARM or x86

• Hello everyone,

Any feed back would be helpful, thankyou in advance. I am new to OMV(newborn yesterday). After mistakenlyviewing TDL's youtube – I was hooked. Have a need. Wow. Absolutelylove the simplicity.

My trouble is deciding which hardwareplatform to use ARM? X86? What I want may not be what I should do or in thought headed towards...given OMV is my goal.

Use case:

• Centralize all personal documents, photos, videos, SW images.
    • Monthly image push (macrium) for pc backup.
    • Weekly perform small sized media backup's
    • All streaming is from I-net to LAN devices not the NAS.

HW Requirements:

• single board system, low power
    • Boot and run system image from 'fast storage', not usb. Prefer SSD.
    • One (1) SATA port (real sata) for SSD to hold content.
    • 2GB, 64bit
    • HDMI 2.0
    • GigE, USB 3

SW Requirements:

• OMV only

Ancillary:

• Case – not important, WiFi – if possible I'll use USB3 w/11ac else wired gigE, and ?

Assume:

• Home network – all good - GigE wired and 11a/g/ac radiates everywhere.

Cost/Benefit:

• For ARM deployment, I am unable to find above requirements. ODROID-HC2 ($60) is about the closest possible. That would make Debian boot/run from eMMC, a UHS-1 card. Wont this make performance bottleneck, just suck under load, during load?
    • For x86 deployment, I was able to find ASRock J5005-mini ITX ($120) has all the bells and whistles.

Thoughts:
    From a technical standpoint, the x86system seems to make more sense.
    From a cost standpoint, I could easilypurchase two (2) ARMs and make them redundant. Pri/Sec.

If cost is about the same, it seems thedecision process changes: going with ARM increases reliability butdecreases performance; going with x86 increases performance butdecreases reliability – given roughly the same initial investment.??