Copy files internally via ssh allowed?

• Hi all,

I'm new to OMV, did build an own NAS machine and the setup and first steps are done. Big thanks to the developers and all supporters, great work!

Here's one beginner question I'd like to clearify: Let's say I've attached 2 HDD's via SATA in the NAS running OMV and would like to transfer files internally in OMV. (without shared folders). Can I safely ssh as root to the NAS and copy files in the ssh session from 1 HDD to another (using cp command or maybe midnight commander)? Or does that "interfere" somehow with OMV's right's management or something?

Thanks in advance!

• Can I safely ssh as root to the NAS and copy files in the ssh session from 1 HDD to another (using cp command or maybe midnight commander)?

If source and destination are shared to SMB or AFP clients and use mismatching share settings for both then you'll introduce problems for sure. Which sort of troubles always depends on mismatch of settings used. Possibilities: encoding troubles, different representation of metadata, permissions and ACLs.

As long as you work with defaults the risk is rather low.

• If source and destination are shared to SMB or AFP clients and use mismatching share settings for both then you'll introduce problems for sure. Which sort of troubles always depends on mismatch of settings used. Possibilities: encoding troubles, different representation of metadata, permissions and ACLs.

As long as you work with defaults the risk is rather low.

I understand, thanks!

• I have done that before just ssh into your server cd /srv and just move files from one hdd to the other, now after that you can create sharedfolders and just move the files inside it. In regards to safety I am not sure what safety, this is a linux os, what you can do on debian you can do on OMV when you ssh to the server.

• The cp command is pretty good.. but as tkaiser (basically) said. I would run it as a user... not as root.