• Code
    user@omv:~$ ls -l .bashrc
    -rw-r--r-- 1 user users 82 Sep 11 10:20 .bashrc
    user@omv:~$ cat .bashrc
    #  Aliases
    #alias ls='/bin/ls -FCs '
    alias s='. ~/.bashrc'
    alias l='/bin/ls -l '

I'm expecting the above .bashrc to be loaded when I log in. Unfortunately, that's not happening. I can load it manually but I'd prefer not to have to do that. Any ideas on what might be wrong?

• Offizieller Beitrag

does your ~/.profile contain something like this?

Code
    # ~/.profile: executed by Bourne-compatible login shells.

if [ "$BASH" ]; then
      if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
        . ~/.bashrc
      fi
    fi

https://askubuntu.com/question…when-opening-new-terminal

• I just added it but it didn't make a difference.

I'm using stock OMV and I'm not a programmer or admin but I have been using Linux for a good while. Can't figure out how to get this to work ....

Any help is most appreciated.

• Put your aliases in your .profile file instead of .bashrc.

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• Then something is seriously wrong with how you are doing this or you are not logging in as the same user you are modifying the environment for.

Also, you have to save the .profile file and log out and then log in again. Are you doing that?

--

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

Einmal editiert, zuletzt von gderf ()

• Then something is seriously wrong with how you are doing this or you are not logging in as the same user you are modifying the environment for.

Also, you have to save the .profile file and log out and then log in again. Are you doing that?

I've set up OMV with default settings. All users exhibit this behavior.

I certainly did write, log out, and log back in.