Wake On Lan - WOL - Doesn't work reliable with autoshutdown

• Hello everyone!

After setting everything up I am really happy with my OMV NAS.

But there is one thing that doesn't work yet.

I can wake up my NAS with a WOL Magic packet if I put it to sleep with command line command: systemctl suspend

But: When the autoshutdown plugin suspends the NAS it is impossible to wake it up over ethernet. I have to press a button on the keyboard or the powerbutton to wake it up again.

I am very new to the linux world so I think I need some help to figure out what’s wrong.

Hardware Specs:
    Mainboard: Gigabyte H97N Wifi Mini ITX
    Ethernet: Onboard Intel GbE Ethernet Card
    CPU: Intel Celeron G1820

Thank your very much in advance!
    Greetings from Germany
    Simon

• Offizieller Beitrag

(Assuming you have wake-on-lan enabled in BIOS.)

For wake-on-lan purposes, you don't need to use the autoshutdown plugin. Look under System, Power Management, in Scheduled Jobs Tab and click the Add button. (Type: Shutdown) If you setup a standard power off shutdown, wake-on-lan will work.

• Hey, thank you for your answer!

The problem ist: I don't know when to shutdown the system - sometimes I need the NAS for the whole day and sometimes only a few hours a week. So there are no fixed times for a sheduled shutdown.

Autoshutdown puts the NAS to sleep when there is no Samba Connection and no connection via Port 443 (Seafile SSL Port).

The Problem is, that I can not wake the system up via WOL anymore after that.

But: WOL works if I use systemctl suspend (which I did for test purposes)

I'm sorry that I can't explain it much better but feel free to ask any question.
    Thank you very much! :)

• Offizieller Beitrag

I just loaded the autoshutdown plugin, for the first time, in a VM. (There's interesting possibilities there, for my use cases.)

The Problem is, that I can not wake the system up via WOL anymore after that.