One little step bigger than the Odroid HC2 - what to choose?

• Hi,

I'm new to OMV and had a bit of trouble while installing - but now it works quite well and I'm really convinced.

I'm using it with an Odroid HC2 with System on SD-Card and a WD Red 4TB.

Everything fine - and I will stay with this system as a backup-system.

My main-system should be a little big better/bigger system at all.

I want to use the main system as a OMV-NAS and with 1-2 running dockers (Nextcloud + one more).

That would stress my little Odroid HC2 with it's SD-Card too much. So what would be the advice to go one step bigger? Don't wanna waste too much power / energy.

Really looking forward for a few advices.

Thx Bud

• I want to use the main system as a OMV-NAS and with 1-2 running dockers (Nextcloud + one more).

That would stress my little Odroid HC2 with it's SD-Card too much

Why?

Your HC2 is overpowered for such tasks anyway and you can push the docker container storage to either your HDD or you attach an SSD in a JMS578 or ASM1153 enclosure to the USB port and run the stuff there. While everybody will be telling you that's just USB2 and too slow that's not true. Random IO performance is important and a SSD in an USB2 attached enclosure should easily outperform a HDD attached to USB3 (that's the HC2's 'SATA port', everything is USB here).

• Why?
    Your HC2 is overpowered for such tasks anyway and you can push the docker container storage to either your HDD or you attach an SSD in a JMS578 or ASM1153 enclosure to the USB port and run the stuff there. While everybody will be telling you that's just USB2 and too slow that's not true. Random IO performance is important and a SSD in an USB2 attached enclosure should easily outperform a HDD attached to USB3 (that's the HC2's 'SATA port', everything is USB here).