Why no update notifications, and when reboot (notification pop-up)?

• Hi,

as a novice I do have two questions.

1. after activation the mail-notifications I thought, that when an update appears I will get a notification, that an update is available (with the last debian update, there has been no notification)??

2. As I'm not an linux expert I don't really know, when I have to restart the OMV-System or not? Sometimes I actually need to make a restart after installing updates, sometimes not... A notification pop-up would be cool to know, that the changes only take effect when rebooting....

• Generally speaking, only an update to the kernel would require a reboot.

I don't know why you are not getting update notifications. Mine is also broken and I have not seen any update notifications in years.

--
    Google is your friend and Bob's your uncle!

OMV AMD64 7.x on headless Chenbro NR12000 1U 1x 8m Quad Core E3-1220 3.1GHz 32GB ECC RAM.

• Offizieller Beitrag

2. As I'm not an linux expert I don't really know, when I have to restart the OMV-System or not? Sometimes I actually need to make a restart after installing updates, sometimes not... A notification pop-up would be cool to know, that the changes only take effect when rebooting....

I never seen an update that requires a reboot. I 've heard that you have to do that on Windows :) but not on Linux.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I never seen an update that requires a reboot.

The kernel :)

The existence of /var/run/reboot-required tells you that a package update wants the system rebooted.
    If a service needs a restart, it will be listed in /var/run/reboot-required.
    The package(s) telling the system that it wants a reboot is listed in /var/run/reboot-required.pkgs.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github