RAID5 Failure Test

• I am a noob to OMV so please excuse my ignorance. First thing I have to say is I am really enjoying playing around with OMV4.

I created a RAID5 with 3 HD (4th HD is for the OS). Since I will be putting all my valuable family digital photos on this device I wanted to ensure I could do some simulated RAID5 failure/recovery before I transfer my TB of photos. Here was my test:
    I disconnected the SATA cable to #3 HD while it was still running and as expected I saw clean, degraded under the RAID5 I setup.
    I was still able to access a couple of files I put on the storage, good.
    I reconnected the SATA cable and OMV4 recognized #3 HD with same name, but the RAID5 was still clean, degraded
    I tried to do "Recovery" on the RAID5 but no HD showed up in the selection box.
    I rebooted and repeated the same process with no success.

I was able to recover the RAID5 by going to the "Disks" selecting #3 HD and doing a "Wipe"
    Then I went to the "RAID Management" and selected the RAID5 to do the "Recovery" which then the #3 HD showed up...all good back to normal, it rebuilt the RAID5.

QUESTION: Is there an easier way to re-initiate #3 HD in the RAID5?
    It seems unnecessary to have to rebuild the RAID5.

• Offizieller Beitrag

Is there an easier way to re-initiate #3 HD in the RAID5?

Outside of commands on the command line, I doubt it. This is the nature of RAID. The way you're failing drives and recovering might be useful to let you see what the process is, but it's not the way a drive would fail in a real world. (The wipe was necessary to reset the drive's partition info and flags.) When a drive fails, you're going to be replacing it with another drive, not attempting to reinitialize a failed drive in place. BTW: Before attempting to add a new drive to any RAID array type, the wipe operation is required (or at least a very good idea).