• Hello

First I apologize if this post is a bit all over the place, i am writing this at 1 in the morning and im too tired/lazy to make sure it all makes sense, this post will just be full of my questions about OMV and what i have done so far.
    I have just installed OMV to my old desktop computer and im wondering what i can do with it and where i can learn how to use it.

My goals with this server is:
    Basic NAS (CHeck but i cant seam to access it on my Win10 machine without first SSHing into the server)
    Media Server (Plex Server Checked)
    Minecraft and other game servers
    A home server to mess around with

I have messed around with linux in the past but not much and this is my first time running a headless os dont quite know what i can and cant do.

Can i access and run stuff on debin bypassing OMV?

How do VM's work on OMV?

I have a new CPU and more RAM on the way, will i have to do anything before or after i install them?

Watched a few videos on dockers but would like to know how to set them up when there are no instructions for OMV

Thanks

• Techno Dad Life has a posted very detailed instruction videos in Youtube. I used it to setup my home server.
    I have more modest goals than you do, ie:

Media Server using miniDLNA (Kodi clients)
    File Server and data storage (one IDE drive for the OS + eight Sata drives for data)
    Flexible raid: Unionfs filesystem with Snapraid
    Backup to external USB drive

"I have messed around with linux in the past but not much and this is my first time running a headless os dont quite know what i can and cant do."

Shell-in-a-box will allow you to run the Terminal without having to use a separate monitor.

"I have a new CPU and more RAM on the way, will i have to do anything before or after i install them?"

If it's the same motherboard, you should be able to do it either way.