ZFS + OMV4 with some Errors During Installation.

• Hiya all,

New to OMV, but not Linux. I followed the big thread instructions on installing ZFS on OMV4. I installed a fresh install today, updated things and then enabled OMV Extras. Everything went as planned.

I went to install ZFS and during the install received a bunch of errors. As I've never tried ZFS before and this is my first foray into building my own NAS with it (I just did ext4/ext3 with vanilla Linux previously) I thought I'd ask if anyone else has hit them during installation. I saw this thread a little too late and now I get this every time I click on ZFS in the tree:

Code
    Failed to execute command 'export PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin; export LANG=C.UTF-8; zfs list -H -t snapshot -o name,used,refer 2>&1' with exit code '1': The ZFS modules are not loaded. Try running '/sbin/modprobe zfs' as root to load them.

Then if I click details:

So I've enabled the OMV Testing Repo...done a complete update and then an upgrade...but no joy. Anyone have any tips/tricks to resolve this issue? I'm thinking ZFS didn't completely install from before but I'm not 100% sure what to do from this point onward because I'm not familiar with the packages that need installed/reinstalled again having done everything through the GUI.

• Yeah ZFS plugin seems to be a bit buggy to be honest. I have been messing around with things creating pools and mixing and matching the drives I have (just to understand the raid levels which are somewhat different) and suddenly, all my devices disappear from the pool selection screen. No more pools for me now. It's persistent through reboots...they just don't exist to choose in the drop down any longer.

I've searched through buglists here and found a couple of unresolved bugs that point to someone finding a solution that he can't remember. So I'm out of luck.

Just doesn't seem like I'm going to be able to stick with this. :(