Question: Can rsync be used without using the GUI?

• Hi,

I received a rather complex rsync script that I would like to use on my OMV server
    because I'm new with OMV, I would like to know if it possible to use this "rsync" script directly
    without using the gui?
    If it's possible, is it also advisable? or is using the gui a more stable way of using rsync on OMV?

• Thanks, I have read that topic, but after reading it was for me not clear if who was to blame these "problems" (user related, software related, or mixture of both)
    Rsync is pretty stable and good system, and many people are using Rsync daily in the world.

But what I would like to know; is what the best practice of using rsync on OMV?

• Offizieller Beitrag

I use rsync a lot on my OMV servers.

And I have never used rsync from the OMV GUI.

Either I use rsync on the command line or in scripts. Typically to create and purge rsync snapshots to backup folders.

Typically the backup snapshot scripts are run daily from a cron job. I edit crontab directly. have never used the OMV GUI to schedule jobs.

On each backup server I have a folder called snapshots. There I have a bunch of snapshot scripts as well as a "master" script:

Code: all.sh
    #!/usr/bin/env bash
    for f in *_snapshot.sh; do
       bash "$f"
    done

And a line in /etc/crontab like this:

0 3 * * * adoby cd /sharedfolders/nas1/snapshots && /bin/bash all.sh

Then, at 03:00, every night, all the snapshot scripts are run. Currently that is:

local_media_snapshot.sh
    shared_media_snapshot.sh
    download_snapshot.sh

These scripts creates and purges rsync snapshots on nas1 of specific folders from nas0. It is intentionally a rsync "pull" to avoid problems with filled mount points.

I verify that snapshots are made and purged by looking in /sharedfolders/nas1/snapshots.