[RESOLVED] Recycle bin for SMB/CIFS

• Hello everyone,

I am new to OMV and linux at all, but after suggestion from friends I installed OMV as my SOHO file server with 7 clients running windows 8.1 and now i am happy that i did it since i have over 30 days up time without any problems. With help of this forum and pages about OMV managed to get everything running (mirror raid, shares, file system) without any problems but now i have question about recycle bin for SMB/CIFS share.

After deleting some of not important files by accident I realized that i need recycle bin for 2 shared folders and went to shared folders options and enabled box where is recycle bin and left file size and days on 0 value. Problems is now i can't see recycle bin in my shared folders, tried with deleting some test files to see if it will appear but still nothing.

So my question is how i can see recycle bin folder and what is in it? Have in mind that i am really beginner when this type of software and my guess is that i missing something really basic but can't see it and it's drives me crazy.

Running OMV 0.5.21 with usb backup and antivirus plugins.

• I think if you are using it you need to have a minimum size and a number of days. If you have 0 for size and days for items to remain there it is probably not storing anything. It depends on what average size of files you are using in the shared folders. If they are small documents (5kb-10kb) you may only need like a 100 MB size and maybe 7 days.

I just looked at the configuration and if you put 0 for size it is unrestricted and should save any file deleted.

0 for days is manual deletion.

You should be able to access the files via command line. I've never used recycle bin.

I am testing right now. Will write back in a bit.