How do I create a filesystem that is larger than 16TB?

• Hi,

I'm new to OMV and am trying to create a filesystem that is about 22TB. The RAID 5 configuration works as expected, but when I go to create a new filesystem on that RAID setup, I get an error: /var/log/openmediavault/omv-initfs\@_dev_md8.log reports

mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
    mkfs.ext4: Size of device /dev/md8 too big to be expressed in 32 bits
    using a blocksize of 4096.

I installed the 64-bit version of the OS (e.g. "getconf LONG_BIT" returns 64). How do I get omv-initfs to use 64 bits? (I've also tried "mkfs.ext4 -O 64bit,has_journal,extents,huge_file,flex_bg,uninit_bg,dir_nlink,extra_isize /dev/md8" and got the same error message.)

Thanks,
    Jerry

• Please use a gparted live cd for that. Under Debian Squeeze you can only create filesystems up to 16TB. This problem will be fixed when the next major version is released which will be based upon Debian Wheezy.

Greetings
    David

"Well... lately this forum has become support for everything except omv" [...] "And is like someone is banning Google from their browsers"

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Upload Logfile via WebGUI/CLI
    #openmediavault on freenode IRC | German & English | GMT+1
    Absolutely no Support via PM!

• FYI, the XFS filesystem cannot be shrunk. This means that on a RAID setup, you cannot easily reduce the size of the array.

I had a 4x2TB RAID5 array (for a total of 6TB), but was only using 3TB. I wanted to take one of the drives from the array and use it elsewhere, and shrink the size of the array down to 4TB. I believe you can do this with an EXT4 filesystem, but not XFS, so I was sweet out of luck :(

This may or may not be an issue for you.

• Zitat von "Tyberious Funk"

FYI, the XFS filesystem cannot be shrunk. This means that on a RAID setup, you cannot easily reduce the size of the array.