Local to remote OMV Rsync

• Hi There,

I’ve been searching everywhere for answers to my problem but can’t seem to find them. So if anyone can post links to relevant info or help me out it would be great, here’s my situation.

I’m trying to send data from a local OMV server to a remote OMV server over the internet using rsync. I would also like to use it over SSH but that can be added later once I get it working. I’m just not sure what I’m missing or doing wrong. I’m pretty new to rsync as I’ve been using crashpaln for remote backups instead.

On the remote server under rsync Server Settings I've checked the box to enable rsync server and left the default port settings as they are.

- In Add Module>>General, I have named the module Rsync-Test and created the necessary shared folders for it.
    - For the user I selected my custom user “rysnc”.
    - I checked the box “Enable user authentication”.
    - All other settings are default.

- In Add Module>>Users, I added my custom user “rsync” and its password to the list of users.

- Both ports 22 & 873 have been forwarded in my firewall.

On the client OMV I added an Rsync Job with the following settings.
    - Type - Remote
    - Mode - Push
    - Source - The source folder I made earlier
    - Destination - http://rsync@remoteomveserver.com:873/Rsync-Test
    - password – password for my “rsync” user
    - All other setting are default.

I’m not sure if I’ve done this right or wrong but any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

Cheers, Baldman :)

• Offizieller Beitrag

For the destination, try (this doesn't use ssh):

Code
    rsync@remoteomvserver.com::Rsync-Test

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.