Is there a RSync Tutorial, anywhere?

• Hello everybody.

Currently i am using openmediavault 0.3.0.17 on a box here in the office.
    I am a newbie to this RSync utility. I am trying to set this up.
    Currently the OMV works fine with the shared folders and from our 3 W7 boxes we can see and use the shared folders.

The idea is to copy from our W7 boxes to a specific shared folder in "*.tar" file every night.
    I have beeing trying it using these 2 links to figure out how te set this up.
    http://sourceforge.net/apps/ph…/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=847
    http://sourceforge.net/apps/ph…/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=672
    But no luck so far. :shock: Both W7 boxes have a fixed IP address. Is there any small tutorial as how to set this up?
    Shouldn´t be that hard, no :?:
    Can anyone help me out here, plz :?:
    Many thanks in advance.
    Cheers,
    Paco

• Good morning Ivaylo.
    thanks for the links. Yes that can be helpfull.
    my specific situation is the following.
    I want to make a daily backup of c:\backup (W7)
    for this i used the following command.

Rsync Job established
    Service: Enabeled
    Comment: Get stuff from a W7 box
    Type: remote
    Source Server: rsync::/192.168.1.50:873/backup
    Destination shared folder: Folder-E
    Password: N/A

- The W7 has a fixed IP address
    - The W7 has no user established, thus no need to place user name in the line
    - On the W7 the FW is turned of (or when i turn it on the port 873 is open, both for incoming as outgoing traffic)

Executing this command i get:
    rsync::/192.168.1.50:873/c:/backup: No existe el fichero o el directorio
    Translation: No file or directory available.

Any idea what could be wrong here?
    Thanks in advance.
    Paco

• Hello Paco,
    I am not RSync expert and therefore I am not going to even say that I have some experience with this process.
    Reading what you have posted here I see at the beginning that :
    ""