What's better Greypool or SnapRAID?

• Ok so a quick intro, I’m completely new to the OpenMediaVault OS/NAS setup. I’m currently replacing an Amahi 7 server. My main reasoning is while Amahi was easy to use in the last update from 6 to 7 they decided to start to charge for every little add-on to the system and broke a lot of the add-on that were working before. So I decided to look for a new home NAS setup. I looked at freeNAS, openNAS and some others and decided on OMV. I’ve installed it twice on different systems to see how it ran and play around and now have installed it on my main NAS system, a HP DC4400 Core 2 6600 CPU, 4GB ram, 74G WD 10K Raptor OS drive and 5 750G SATA drives. The OS & 3 750s are on the onboard sata controllers the other 2 750s are on a sata expansion card.

So here are my questions that I need a little help with. I can’t do a raid 5 with all 5 drives since the system will not let me mix the drives from the 2 controllers. On Amahi I had the drives setup as a Greypool array which was ok. I see with OMV I have the option of SnapRAID. What performance/advantages would SnapRAID give me over Greypool? As I understand it buy looking over the setup both of them use Volumes on the drives not the entire drive like a RAID 5 setup would. I know that with Greypool only the directories I choose are duplicated on multiple drives, I’m not sure how SnapRAID works. I haven’t found any real good explanations of how to setup SnapRAID from a completely fresh install. I looked around the forums & wiki but most stuff assumes you either know the system or have a system running and your adding it.

Which leads to my second question., Is there an updated location for Guides & Tutorials? I looked on the new forum and didn’t see it. Only the old forum link is all I can find.

So far I really like the system and think you guys are doing a top notch job getting a system working that’s easy to use. Thanks for the hard work and keep rocking it.

• Offizieller Beitrag