Windows 7 Pro 64Bits and OMV 0.5.57

• I am new to Open Media Vault and Linux here so I need your help here.

I installed and setup OMV on one of my old Dell Optiplex 755. I also attached the second hard drive 2TB. This drive was partition as ntfs in gparted software.
    I was able to manage fairly easily OMV configuration... however I am stack here because for some reason I can't access 2 folders I setup as shared in OMV from Windows 7 but I can access in Windows XP Pro. In Windows 7 I get error message saying: \\MEDIAVAULT-1 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resources. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permissions. The network address is invalid. but in Windows XP no problem when I browse because the login dial box pop up and ask for username and password and when I entere my credential I created in OMV I have access to these 2 folder.

I have no clue what else I should try to make a work in Windows 7 Pro 64 bits as well? Like I said I am novice here and I am learning to use Linux so please help me. ?(

Please if you need more information regarding my setup please let me know and I do my best to answer to you.

Thank you

Best Regards,

• Offizieller Beitrag

If it works from XP, your OMV box is setup correctly. This is an issue with your Win7 system. Instead of the system name \\mediavault-1, try accessing using the ip address \\192.168.1.x

omv 7.0-32 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.9 | compose 7.0.9 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag