Some RAID questions, hw vs sw, suitable RAID card or HBA for OMV

• I have posted the wrong question in a wrong thread, but I have put that in order now. As I have mentioned in New OMV user, new build, I intend to make a RAID 1 of 10-14 drives.

About RAID. I have no experience with RAID. About hardware RAID people say it is not good for home users because of the complications that come after a controller hardware failure. I was not able to find what happens it a hardware raid card fails and is replace with the same one. e.g.: I have found a PCIe card on eBay "3ware 9590SE-16ML" which is a hardware SATA II card, it is used and it is cheap in my opinion (130eur) for a 16 port card. I have also found many other same generation 3ware cards and some Areca card that have it's own processor and RAID microcode which should make them real hardware RAID cards (cards that were new a few thousands euros). If I buy two identical cards and have one in a computer and another in a spare parts drawer, will I be immune to a problem of RAID card dying on me?

What is more advisable to use in my case (I do not know how much dose the number of drives impact the performance of software RAID) a hardware RAID card or OMV software RAID (I presume mdadm)? If I use software RAID, what type of car should I use a simple HBA, port multiplier based card, a real hardware based RAID card (like the one above) in JBOD mode or something else?

One more question, is there somewhere a list of cards that are supported by the OMV or known good candidates?
    I have tried to find out which card supports Debian 7, but as most of these cards were made before Debian 7 I did not have any luck finding what I was looking for.