Possible Greyhole Permissions Problems

• Hello,

Problem: Plex doesn't see my files (I know the title doesn't match this issue, let me explain)

Long back story:
    Last week I decided I would take the plunge and upgrade from OMV 0.5 to OMV 1.0. The guide said to do omv-release-upgrade. Fear realized, it crashed my system, it wouldn't startup. I had a backup for 0.5 but because it's complicated and I'm not very good with linux, I decided just to do a fresh install. Fresh install went well. I recreated all my shares in OMV with the folders that already existed on the drives and just plugged back in my greyhole directories, unchanged. It all worked. I could open/copy/delete/move files via smb no problem.

Then I installed the Plex plugin and it simply will not recognize my media files in the greyhole pool (BTW, it worked perfectly in 0.5). I checked the scanning log and it says permission denied on each file. I have tried every permissions trick I can find on the forums to get plex access so it can read my files. The whole privileges/ACL thing is confusing to me and I don't know how to perform chmod commands well in command line.

I now have a fresh install again and I think the next step is to delete the greyhole shares. Move all the files to a new directory that I create in this OMV 1.0 instance and recreate the samba shares and the greyhole directories.

Am I on the right track? Quite honestly, I feel like I'm losing my mind. ?(

• A little frustrating that no one replied to this. But I guess that's understandable, the whole issue was probably complicated and I don't think I explained it well. If anybody in the future has the same issue. I ended up deleting the greyhole shares which copies all the actually files back to the landing data drive they started from. Needless to say, for 2TB that took a while. Then I completely reinstalled OMV 1.0 from disc.