Which Mailserver

• Hi,

I´d like to run an IMAP Server on my OMV 1.
    I just want to archive my mails on it. Clients will be thunderbird and K9-Mail (Android). It is not necessary that the server sends mails to other servers. Just IMAP with my clients. The mails should reside in plaintext in the users home-dirs.

Unfortunately i am a noob considering mails-servers.

Do you have any suggestions for me?

Thanks

• Offizieller Beitrag

The offlineimap plugin may do what you want. It syncs your email and lets you choose the shared folder where it is stored. I haven't got much feedback on the plugin so it may need some improvement.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Offizieller Beitrag

It is definitely not an IMAP server. Most email servers would be constantly syncing with your normal account. So, it really isn't much of an archive if you are looking for deleted emails. Why do you need imap access to the archive?

If you really want an IMAP server, I recommend running something like iRedMail in a VM.

omv 7.0.5-1 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.8 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.13 | compose 7.1.4 | k8s 7.1.0-3 | cputemp 7.0.1 | mergerfs 7.0.4

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github - changelogs

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• On my xpenology i had the "Mailserver" running.
    From time to time I moved my Mails from the hosted Mailservers (eg puretec, gmx) to my NAS.