Adding storage drives and changing RAID setup to suit

• Hi there

I will first of all say I am not an IT pro, but can follow instructions and generally not brick stuff!

I have OMV 0.5.60 installed on an HP Micro Server. At the moment I have a pair of 3TB WD red drives installed, but these are nearing capacity in a straight mirrored RAID config.

I'm intending to buy 2 more 3TB WD reds to fill the available bays. The server gets used to backup a desktop and laptop on a weekly basis and is largely used for media server duties around the house, so lots of music and large video files.

Is there a walk through guide to adding additional drives and what steps I need to take in what order for OMV to recognise them?

Given the above usage what RAID config is recommended? I'm happy to live with 1 drive failure to give maximum storage, but not sure what other factors I need to take into account?

Grateful for any guidance - I haven't yet ordered the drives but will be doing so shortly.

Adrian

• Offizieller Beitrag

There is plenty of guides and howto's by searching in google. You're looking at marking the mirror as degraded (an option that is not available in the webUI) so you'll have to use the CLI a little bit

As I understand the general plan would be:

1) Mark your mirror raid1 as degraded. This is removing one the HDD from the mirror. It will still be working and data available.
    2) Build a new RAID5 array with 3 disks (2 new ones and the other one you'd remove from the mirror before)
    3) Format raid5, mount and move all data from the RAID1 degraded array
    3) Once the data is moved. Destroy RAID1 array, and add that drive to the raid5 array (grow), grow filesystem and your done.

All of this steps (except from number 1) can be done from the webUI. Also I would recommend you to backup important data if you don't feel to sure and also practice before in a VM environment. A pre-installed one is available here OpenMediaVault 1.0 VirtualBox Appliances online