Install updated OMV on Iomega Home Media Cloud Edition NAS and empty disk

• Hello all,

First of all, sorry for some eventual english errors.

I've been trying to give a "fresh life" to my old Iomega Home Media Cloud Edition NAS, and I heard about OMV.

So, I installed it from the stock firmware, following this tutorial I found. Works great, but it's and old OMV version which won't allow me to use some plugins I need (owndloud, miniDLNA, Transmission).

So I googled around and found some HOWTO's. I've erased my drive and did a fresh install from Wheezy following these instructions and now I ended up with a two white LEDs lit all the time and no network access to my drive.

So, here's my request: how can I install and updated version of OMV on my HMCE considering:
    a) empty drive (just have Wheezy on it atm but seems it's not working in the box)
    b) I'm not a linux expert, know just the basics, so a step-by-step tutorial would be nice.

I know I'm asking too much but I'm relly lost here and eager to have my NAS working again.

I kindly thank you all for the attention and patience.

Cheers!

• Hello!

Not solved, sorry.

And willri, can't install from ISO (as far as I know) because since it's a NAS, it requires an modded kernel. Processors, drivers, etc.

Cheers!

• Hello willri,

I'm thinking about give it another try.

I ended up with OMV 1.9 running on Debian Wheezy. It was running, but I had a lot of issues that made me quit. However, it requires a modded kernel since the NAS is way too old (about 5 years old or even more).

I would love that someone could make an updated install tutorial, with the proper files and versions to use. I messed my install so much that I don't even remember what exactly I did to fix several of the issues.

It seems the OMV 1.12 is the better version for this NAS. Not sure I'll be able to install it tho. I remember installing 0.4 and running apt-get update, then it ended up with 1.9. Not sure how to stop on 1.12.

Cheers!