hard drive failure after format

• Hi,
    As part of my test setup of OMV, ive formatted a drive to ext 4 using the full format option. The drive worked perfectly before and the format appeared successful. However the drive now completely locks out my BIOS when I try to boot. I get the first screen then everything is dead. I can't even get into the BIOS. If I remove the drive everything is fine again.

Any ideas please?
    Dave

• The drive is sata, but the motherboard is about 5 years old. How can I tell if its hot pluggable? Will it damage the drive otherwise?

Also, I'm a noob with Linux systems - where/ how do i find dmesg?

Thanks.

• Offizieller Beitrag

The manufacturer website should say for that model. But from age I am pretty sure is hot plug. Dmesg is just a command you run in ssh terminal, it gives info about hw. Also you may want check smart info for the drive in the webui, physical disk section.
    Are you sure you configured your bios to boot the os drive and not the data drive? It might be something like boot priority. Never seen a disk that can lock access to bios.

• ok, Im getting somewhere now. When I hot -plugged it, I got a couple of error codes at the command prompt:

[4060.443948] ata5: exception Emask 0x10 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x50000 action 0xe frozen
    [4060.444029] ata5: SError: {PHYRdyChg CommWake}

...but I can still log into the web admin. Now it sees the drive and all looks good. (Ive not tried to re-boot yet...!)
    Great thanks, HD is not dead at least :o)

Ive set a share on this drive and also have a different drive which is NTFS and contains old window stuff. I can access the NTFS stuff fine but the Ext4 drive share wont allow me to access via windows 7. What am I missing?

Dave

• ok, Ive just tried the reboot and it still hangs the system! Doh! Ive triple checked the bios settings and boot load priority.