First NAS Build - Beginner

• Hi Everyone,

I am getting ready to order components for my first NAS build. I have been researching on what type of NAS and OS would work best for me and have decided to go with OMV over Freenas. I am a complete beginner and OMV seems to be a perfect fit for me.

Looking for some feedback on this build (which meets my budget of around $700).

CPU - Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz Dual-Core Processor
    Motherboard - Asus H81I-PLUS Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard
    Memory - A-Data XPG V1.0 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory Model AX3U1600W8G9-RR
    Case - Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX Tower Case
    Power Supply - EVGA 500W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply
    Wired Adapter Card - Intel EXPI9301CTBLK 10/100/1000 Mbps PCI-Express x1 Network Adapter
    Harddrive- Two Western Digital Red 3TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive

Hardrives I am undecided if I will bump these up to 4Tb and I might also purchase another 8BG of memory.

I plan on running OMV in JBOD.

Curious on what everyone things on this build...from my research it looks like each component plays nice with each other.

Thanks for all your help.

• Offizieller Beitrag

I've read about a lot of QC issues on the 3tb WD Reds... it's an issue that doesn't seem to be present on the 2tb and the 4tb. The reviews on the 3tb on Newegg are pretty bad, but the 2tb and 4tb are pretty solid. I'd either move up to 4tb, or if that's not able to be done... move to Seagate or Hitachi.

• I too came from FreeNAS to OMV, can't say I regret it. I can't evaluate the inner workings much since I'm not tech savvy enough, but I do feel more at home in Linux and I find the WebUI and general feel of OMV pretty awesome.

I had 4 (!) brand new 3Tb WD Reds fail in a matter of weeks. It could have been bad shipping too though and not necessarily a manufacturer issue. I've returned them and while I was at it upgraded to 4Tb models. Prices per Gb are the same for the 3Tb and 4Tb models around here.