creating my first NFS share

• OMV 1.0

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• creating my first NFS share

Hi,
      sorry but I'm a total newbie, with both linux and OMV.

I set up my NAS with OMV (v1.11), connected it to the network (wired) and I can succesfully access the webUI through the browser.
      It's a WD My Cloud nas device, for the installation setup please see: WD MyCloud.

I'd like to do my first test on my first nas and since I only have machines running linux at home I choose to create a NFS share (but I don't know if I did the correct choice).

Here my steps:
      - created a user on OMV using same name as my user name on my linux box (is this really necessary?)
      - created a "test" share folder on the volume and gave read/write permissions to everyone (just in case, I want to make sure the test runs ok) with the following path: "/test"
      - gave read/write privileges to the user previously created (again.. just in case)
      - under services > NFS I made sure the service is enabled (left the default 8 servers number)
      - on the next tab I created a share by choosing the previously created folder from the drop-down menu, and set privilege to read write and left the default options "subtree_check,secure" and under client I put my linux box IP number (jus gave her a static address, just in case)
      - every step I did, setting were "applied" by clicking on the proper button on OMV webUI

Now to test if I can access the folder on my linux box (Mint 17.1) I did the following:
      sudo apt-get install nfs-common
      and then
      sudo mount server.ip:/test /home/user/WD
      (the WD folder was created under Nemo file manager and I left default privileges)

Unfortunately I get the following error message:
      mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting server.ip:/test

Should I somehow specify the username/password created on OMV when I use the mount command?