Auto mount USB drive when reconnected

• Hey hope this is the right area. I'm new to OpenMediaVault and was hoping someone could help me. I'm using a Raspberry Pi and a USB hard drive. I have everything set up correctly and everything works, but when I turn the external drive off and then turn it back on, the drive doesn't mount again on it's own. It mounts when I restart the Raspberry Pi or manually mount it in the Web UI, but I was wondering if there's a way I can make it automatically remount when I turn the drive back on? Thanks

• Offizieller Beitrag

Hey hope this is the right area. I'm new to OpenMediaVault and was hoping someone could help me. I'm using a Raspberry Pi and a USB hard drive. I have everything set up correctly and everything works, but when I turn the external drive off and then turn it back on, the drive doesn't mount again on it's own. It mounts when I restart the Raspberry Pi or manually mount it in the Web UI, but I was wondering if there's a way I can make it automatically remount when I turn the drive back on? Thanks

This is expected behavior. The drive unmounts automatically, obviously because it gets turned off. Mounting a drive is handled by fstab... so.. as far as I know, you're either going to have to remount it in the webUI, or i *think* if you have ssh access, you can mount -a and that will remount the drive (since it should be in your fstab configuration)

• Yup, 'mount -a' is what you're looking for to remount it easily. Otherwise you would need an udev rule specific to your usb drive.

Greetings
    David

"Well... lately this forum has become support for everything except omv" [...] "And is like someone is banning Google from their browsers"

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Upload Logfile via WebGUI/CLI
    #openmediavault on freenode IRC | German & English | GMT+1
    Absolutely no Support via PM!

• Hi Gents & Gals(maybe?),