USB printer no longer recognized

• Hello Forum

I am new to this Forum, and I am also kind of new to the Linux environment. I've been using OMV for roughly a month now, and after trying different Home NAS solutions, I find OMV to be the easiest to use.

I am running OMV in an old HP dc7800 usdt thin client. The computer has a single SATA port, therefore I installed the OS in a USB SSD to leave space for a big HDD to use as storage. Connected to the system is also a HP Laserjet 1020. I struggled a little to make the printer work, but in the end the only issue was that I needed to download the corresponding drivers (mea culpa, newbie here) . For that, I just used:

Code
    getweb 1020

And after that I could add the printer directly in the CUPS interface (https://localhost:631). I used the printer for a couple of days. I mapped the printer in my laptop, and it worked flawlessly. At the third day I turned off my OMV PC and uplugged the printer from it. I needed the USB cable from the printer for something else. Next day, I reconnected the printer to the OMV PC and restarted it. And there started the problems!

Now, I am not able to add the printer in CUPS. It is not even recognized nor visible. If I go to the OMV interface and check the printing plug in, the printer is recognized as unknown. So, after doing some research, I tried to see if the printer was actually being recognized by Debian. If I open a console and type lsusb, the printer is recognized. I can see that the printer is plugged to one of the usb ports (Bus 1, Device 005: HP Laserjet 1020); but when I run lpinfo -v the printer is also recognized, but it appears as /unknown/printer.

I've tried connecting the printer to different usb ports. I also tried restarting cups, resetting it to its default values and even re installing it. None of them seemed to work. The printer does work, already tested it again connected directly to my laptop.