NAS and HTPC combined using a parallel installation of OMV and Kodi (XBMC)

• Hey!

I'm new to OMV and about to build my first NAS system. Since I also want to use this system as a HTPC I'd like to know what the best way of realizing a parallel installation of OMV and Kodi is. This question has been already discussed here [https://debianforum.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150766], too. The hardware I'm (most likely) going to use is also very similar to what the asker in the above thread mentioned.

As I understand, there are two ways of doing this:
    1) Install OMV as base OS and then compile and install Kodi and all its dependencies and video drivers: Kodi (formerly XBMC) for OMV
    2) Install Debian Wheezy as base OS and then install OMV and Kodi onto that: Howto install OpenMediaVault on Debian 7.x (Wheezy)

I identified the following up- and downsides of these approaches:
    1) Ending up with a standard OMV installation, it will be easy for me to follow other tutorials about OMV. Updates of OMV and the installation if plugins should work well, too. However, I have no idea how to update and maintain the Kodi installation. Quite a number of people seem to experience challenges as early as with the installation of Kodi itself, judging by the thread mentioned above. Furthermore, there a no replies to these inquiries which leads to the conclusion that not many people have choosen this approach.
    2) Installing Kodi on a running Debian Wheezy system seems somewhat to be a common and easy thing. Also I wouldn't have to deal with the manual installation of audio and video drivers. On the other hand, I would end up with a "abnormal" installation of OMV, I guess. Thus, I fear that grading and backing up OMV will be prone to failure.

Edit: A third way may be to run Kodi in a virtual machine on OMV, but I have no idea if that's any good in terms of performance...