New Member: Advice on which RAID setup to proceed with new OMV server

• Hello All,

I'm rather new to the home media/htpc/nas/server world. I only started getting into it at Christmas. Since Then I built a fanless Intel NUC with Windows 8.1 & XBMC as my HTPC appliance and used a 2bay QNAP NAS to hold my media. The NAS only holds media and a system image of my HTPC. My wifes iMac uses Time Machine to backup to an external WD hard drive and I currently do not have it connected to my NAS. I underestimated how quickly my media needs would fill up the 2 BAY and I'm at 60% of my 3TB WD RED.

I decided to do some futureproofing and purchased a Lenovo TS140 with the xeon processor. I'm going to install OMV on a spare SSD, and I have 3 new 3TB WD RED's to install, in addition to the existing 3TB red in my QNAP. I use XBMC now but I want to try out Plex and see if that suits the family better or not. I want off-site family to be able to play media off the server down the line as well which is why I went with the Xeon processor for transcoding.

Questions

1) Originally I was just going to go with Raid5, but than I noticed people using greyhole, snapraid, and a combination of Greyhole & Snapraid. Considering the data on the the server is going to be mostly media, with some important system images/family photo's, what do you suggest for the raid setup? I don't understand how combining greyhole and snapraid works.

2) Will there be any possibility of taking the existing drive out of my qnap and install it into my OMV server, and then pooling the other 3 drives without losing the data? If not that's OK, I understand RAID is not a backup and have been doing weekly syncs with a 4TB external drive, so I know I can transfer that way if need be.

OMV 1.9 - Lenovo Thinkserver TS140 - Xeon E3-1200 v3 Series w/ 8GB Ram: 3 x 3TB WD RED - AUFS Pool, 1 x 16GB Samsung SSD System Drive
    Plex - Syncthing - Couchpotato - Sonarr - NUT

3 Mal editiert, zuletzt von theory ()