openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Somewhat of a noob here,I have had OMV up and running for a while now and finally filled my storage drive.
    Now i have a larger replacement formatted and mounted i want to migrate my shared folders over.

What is the best way to copy / migrate to a larger drive without messing up the permissions, configuration, docker entries ?
    Should i use rsync or cloud commander? move one shared folder at a time or all at once?
  • New

Hi all!
    I hawe a problem whit omv 4.1.3
    I try to install from an iso image that is recorded on usb drive
    I install on ssd connected through sata
    constantly freezes in the same place on Partition formatting and hold on 33% and thats it! nothing else happens
    reworked the disk from mbr on gpt, format all disk, create a ext4 file system, try install on NTFS, nothing helped
    my sys rec:
    Phenom x2 920, 8GB RAM 1333mhz, SSD Crucial 250GB + 2HDD 500GB SATA Hitachi
    Does anyone have any thoughts?
    ;(
  • New

Hi,

Sorry if this is a noob question since I'm new to Unix based systems. But uhh is there a way I can directly read and write floppy disks via my fileserver? The motherboard of my fileserver is soon the only motherboard that has a actual floppy connector and where I work we still have some super expansive machines that write their data on floppy disks.

So is there a way I can mount my floppy disk like I can mount a USB hard drive or do I really need to mess with Docker or Virtualbox just to read and write a floppy disk?

And before someone asks, a USB FDD is not a option. Too unreliable and I already have 2 that don't work properly/reliably.
  • New

After my old QNap with OMV 3 overcome its lifecycle i am looking for a small installation for a backup system with one Harddisk, running OMV 4/5 and simply rsync'ing my home-nas providing the backup via nfs/cifs.