openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Hi there!

I have 2 sharedfolders on my RAID-array. How can move files between those folders? Sadly there's no fileexplorer in OMV. :/

When I use WinSCP over SSH to move the files it just makes a copy and then deletes the old file. When I do it over smb it's the same thing. When I try to move large amouts of files this will takes days which is stupid.(and unnecessary)
    Is there any solution that can really "MOVE" the files in milliseconds on the same drive just like Windows can? Moving files via command line is not an option.

I'm new to Linux so I don't want to install 50 different fileexplorers just to find out that all of them only "copy+delete" instead of "move". Moving files inside the same sharedfolder works just fine over smb.
  • New

Hello,

My OMV V2 server OS drive died over the weekend, so I have now installed OMV V4. My old OMV server had 2 RAID drives, a RAID 1 disk and a RAID 5 disk. Both drives were working fine and the S.M.A.R.T. status was green.

Once the install was completed, both RAID volumes are shown in the RAID Management section (/dev/md126 & /dev/md127). When I go to the File System section, OMV has only picked up the RAID 5 volume(/dev/md126, which I successfully mounted) but does not list the RAID 1 volume (/dev/md127).

If I run cat /proc/mdstat I get the following:

Personalities : [raid1] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [linear] [multipath] [raid0] [raid10]
    md126 : active raid5 sde[1] sdf[2] sdd[0]
    1953262592 blocks super 1.2 level 5, 512k chunk, algorithm 2 [3/3] [UUU]

md127 : active (auto-read-only) raid1 sdc[2] sdb[3]
    1953383360 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]

unused devices: <none>

Any tips on how I can get the system to see the RAID 1 volume in the File Systems section?
  • New

Hi there,

After having some troubles I installed a freshly OMV 4 to a brand new SSD.
    OMV 4 is running on a HP ProLiant MicroServer gen8.