openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

I'm new to OMV and the Raspberry Pi, but I'd like to build a Pi 4-based NAS to which I plan on backing up my Win10 PC using Macrium Reflect via Gigabit Ethernet using PoE as the sole source of power.

1. Any reasons why this won't work? Any issues I should be aware of?
    2. The series of beginner videos here on the forum look like they're perfect to get me started. I've just glanced at them so far, but one comment stuck out: you need to use powered drives. I'd like to use a single spinning disc (for capacity) and was hoping it could be powered by one of the USB 3 ports on the Pi 4. Has anyone successfully tried this yet (maybe on a Pi 3)? Am I out of luck?
    3. It looks like OMV v5 is supposed to support the Pi 4 and v4 does not. True? I know the v5 beta's available now. Any ETA on the final?

Thanks!
  • New

Just upgraded to version 5 (fresh install). I use a NFS share as my ISO datastore, worked fine with version 3. After changing to version 5, every time I mount the NFS in ESXI it does not map to the correct folder, but the first one on list in /etc/exports. After comparing the /etc/exports for both version 5 and version 3 I noticed that the version 5 fsid all equal 1 unlike the previous version that they are all unique. Any ideas on what caused this or how to correct it?
  • New

My OpenVPN installation on OMV 4.1.23-1 Arrakis stopped working a few weeks ago, and I have tried to troubleshoot by searching through forums and digging through client/server settings. Still not working.

This evening, I uninstalled and reinstalled, removed and replaced certificates, but I have not made it work.

My OMV installation is on a Thinkserver TS140, and up to date on OMV 4. I only run NAS for my family, and serve media through PLEX. I maintain a 3-2-1 backup strategy. I use and OpenVPN client on iOS, and through Tunnelblick on MacOS.