openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Hello,

I am new to Linux and looking for an answer to a question I cannot fin anywhere.

I having recently received an old server from work which has come with a couple old drives. I have in total two 2TB HDD, four 1TB HDD for a total of 8TB. I would like to pool these disks into a single volume and it will only contain media. I have read some articles that say I can use OMV and UnionFS plugin to do this. I have also read about software like LVM to merge disks into one volume however they format the disks that are involved in the merge. Which worries me thinking about future proofing and upgrading disk down the road.

My questions are:
    1. Will the process of pooling disks together format all disks involved?
    2. If disks are formatted when pooled, how do people work around upgrading disks without loosing data?
    3. Is is even recommended to do for a home media server?
  • New

hey guys,

new to omv5 and relatively new to linux in general, but not at all squeamish about terminal

i caught a break and found a tech store going out of business... picked up some hardware on the cheap!
    i got 8x 8tb toshiba n300 drives, and 4x 10tb ironwolf drives... grabbed a cheap motherboard, LSI hba, and a Pentium gold all for less than 500 bucks. part of my buy was this usb network adapter from qnap... QNAP QNA-UC5G1T
    i have drivers for both windows and linux, but im not able to install them (i know, damn linux noob...)
    any pointers on where to look for further advice or maybe a cheat sheet on what to do?
    im happy with instructions, but would REALLY like an explanation of WHAT is happening and what im doing wrong... (to better understand linux commands instead of just copying and pasting)

thanks in advance guys
  • New