openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Dont know if this would belong in the OMV forum or the virtualbox forum, but im fairly new to OMV and i was able to successfully set it up to access my server remotely. the only major problem im experiencing is that when i set up the VM it defaulted to my shitty wifi card where if you try and transfer ANYTHING of size over a couple hundred MB's the server goes offline for a good 5 minutes. I attempted to prioritize the Ethernet card in my computer for the VM to use, but OMV still refuses to and will only work through the WIFI card, is there any way to change this without resetting my VM?
  • New

I'm trying to install OMV on a Raspberry Pi 3B+. I installed the image on a SD card (4 times using both dd and Etcher and it did verify) I power on the RPi and wait. I try to connect (Safari & Chrome) and the connection is refused. I try to log in via ssh, it finds the computer but logins fail. I hook up a console and can log in vi root.

Now comes the interesting part. My DHCP server (Pi-Hole) records that the connection and reports the correct IP (mac locked). I can ping by IP address only, no DNS resolution. I can see that the DNS/gateway has been configured correctly in the logs but it seems like OMV ignores my DNS server unless specifically told to to use it.
    host debian.org <- not found
    host debian.org 192.168.0.242 <- debian.org found just fine.

Needless to say the normal install boot fails because it cannot find any domains outside my local network.
    From OMV I can ssh/ping only IPs, no hostnames.

Why does OMV not use the DNS server configured suring the DHCP…
  • New

Hello there from france!

First post in this forum, I'm running OMV since few days on a Proliant microserver Gen10, I'm more a windows guy, that's why I choose omv, but now I'm stucked
    I have an old Qnap TS-412 in which I plugged a drive, formated with ext4 and copied over all my data.