openmediavault

The open network attached storage solution

News

• New

Hi All.
    Total noob so some dumb questions.

Am looking for a simple system to connect to a home LAN with an external drive to store files and backups for 2 home PCs.

Having a folder or partition for media files would also be an advantage.

I have a Raspberry Pi running OctoPrint for my 3D printer, but no real experience with Pi's

Questions :
    Is the OpenMediaVault a complete OS for the Pi ?
    Does the Pi need another OS on it's SD card to boot from ?

Can the OS be run from the SD card so I can change / swap the external hard drives at any time ?
    Can OMV on the Pi be accessed over the LAN from my Win8 PC so the Pi does not need a keyboard or monitor ?

Am sure there are more questions, but just trying to understand the basics of what OMV actually is ( in non-technical terms )
  • New

My SBC suddenly only boots in CLI.

Source Code

1. [ 30.650663] D: [File] : drivers/gpu/arm/mali400/mali/platform/rk/rk.c; [Line] : 623; [Func] : mali_platform_device_init(); to add platform_specific_data to platform_device_of_mali.
    2. [ 30.6595381 mali-utgard ff300000.gpu: Failed to get leakage
    3. [ 30.6678171 mali-utgard ff300000.gpu: Failed to get pvtm
    4. [ 30.6782 76] Mali: Mali device driver loaded
    5. [ 30.7729 65] deufreq ff300000.gpu: Couldn't update frequency transition inforMatim
    6. [ 30.830799 ] FAT-fs Cmmcblk1p6): utf8 is not a recoMmended IO charset for FAT file
    7. [ 31.075696] FAT-fs Cmmcblk1p6): Uolume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
    8. [ 33.201216] rk_gMac-dwMac ff540000.ethernet eth0: Link is Up - 1Gbps/Full - flow flow control
  • New