Is OMV for me?

• Hi... New to forum...

Just wanted some feedback to see if OMV (+ plugins and which ones) will be a good fit for my use case - home media storage and backup.

1. Media storage for streaming - to LG Smart Tv, an iPad, Galaxy tab and nvidia shield TV.
    2. Backup location for 2 laptops (documents, family pics, various files)

firstly, I'm concerned about data safety. Have read various sites/blogs/posts about snapraid and how good it is (c.f. Freenas and btrfs nas solutions) for a home use case. Also having a '"pooling" file system like mergerfs, Aus or mddfs (spelling?).

i have some Linux experience so learning curve is not too steep compared with freenas.
    One query I have with use of snapraid is the changing files but the numbers wouldn't be great on a weekly basis.

advice?

• not sure if OMV is for you :)
    but I have just build out the home server for pretty much the same use.
    and I am suing SnapRaid + mergerfs for my data storage.
    the only issue I have so far is that it seams I am loosing some space on my mergerfs pool volume.
    I have about 8.47 TB total of drives for data pool but I only see 5.46 on the pool fs
    not sure if it is snapraid or merferfs got the data

I run snap raid syn/scan every night
    SMART tools are scheduled by OMV as needed

I also converted the OMV install to a bootable RAID-1 setup using raider script

as for plug-ins, well
    SnapRaid and mergerfs(union filesystems) is already there
    I also install Downloader plugin as you can use that to create a symlinks via GUI
    and eXtplower is handy to have.
    since I want to use btrfs system I needed a back port kernel so an omv-extra repo is a must.

I also want to keep the host system clean so VirtualBox plugin to run all other things in VM.
    like I plan to load up an OMV VM with remote mount plugin to do streaming form there.
    you can load Plex and/or Emby for streaming, take your pick.