OMV Install - Moving from FreeNAS possibly

• Hi

First. Yes I have read certain threads pertaining to upgrading. I just would prefer some other specifics.

I am new to OMV and currently have a FreeNAS 9.3.1 box running. Besides the FreeBSD and Debian Linux difference, is there anything else that is much different with respect to the underlying or basic concept of each server?

It looks like each has pretty much the same features and allows for the same overall goal....a NAS to backup your data. Is there anything in particular that I should be aware of that is I guess radically different? I been using Linux since 1998, so the CLI and and the Linux (OS) as a whole is nothing new whatsoever to me.

I have four (4) 3TB Seagate HDD's I want to install for storage alone and one 64GB SSD for the OS itself. I don't want to create a RAID array of any type, but rather just use the 4 drives like a JBOD setup....each as it's own storage drive. Can this be done with OMV ?

My intent is to get OMV up and running and then transfer data from the FreeNAS box to the OMV box.....perhaps keeping both servers for the time being.

My last question. Which filesystem do most users go with? For a NAS, I have only used ZFS with FreeBSD and with my Linux boxes, EXT3/4/JFS, however, having not used a NAS solution via 'Linux', I would like to get some advice on what would be most appropriate. I know the ZFS requires more memory I was told and I have 16GB which should be enough for any FS I would think.

I don't intend to keep my machine on 24/7 but just have it on 'as needed' when actively backing up files.

Thank You

Tim
    ARS N944LA

• Offizieller Beitrag