Mounting physical drives on ESXI

• Hi,
    I'm a complete newbie to ESXI.

I had OMV 2.0 on a baremetal N54L with 4 drives (under SnapRaid and mergerfs), and I'm planning to upgrade to OMV 3.0 as a VM and install ESXI on the N54L. So far so good.

Now comes the question of mounting the physical drives in the OMV VM. EXSI displays them but OMV doesn't. I've read about converting the drives to VDMK datastores, but I don't want to lose the data, and I really want to keep them as plain ext4 drives for portability.

So how do you guys mount physical drives into an OMV VM under ESXI ? Am I missing something obvious here ?

• Offizieller Beitrag

You have to passthrough the drive by creating a VMDK file pointing at the physical device. I did this on my ESXi box for a lot of drives. Read this. Alternatively, you can passthrough the sata controller to virtual machine from the vsphere client.

omv 7.0.4-2 sandworm | 64 bit | 6.5 proxmox kernel

plugins :: omvextrasorg 7.0 | kvm 7.0.10 | compose 7.1.2 | k8s 7.0-6 | cputemp 7.0 | mergerfs 7.0.3

omv-extras.org plugins source code and issue tracker - github

Please try ctrl-shift-R and read this before posting a question.

Please put your OMV system details in your signature.
    Please don't PM for support... Too many PMs!

• Thanks, yeah I found that out. So I have added my 4 drives as passthrough VDMK files in the EXSI datastore.

Now, when I try to add them to the VM, I can only add two. THe others are greyed out in the UI:
    - Hitachi 1TB: No go
    - WD Green 2TB: Ok
    - WD Green 3TB: No Go
    - Toshiba 3TB: Ok

Could it be that some drives are supported and others not ? That would be strange because the two WD Greens are behaving differently although they have pretty much the same firmware.

Can you explain how to passthrough the SATA controller ?

• Offizieller Beitrag

You must have created the vmdk incorrectly. It is very picky about the device label you use.